Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon


The Community Spirit Award will be given to one volunteer each year who exemplifies the commitment to community service and "can-do" spirit of Giants Community Fund Board Member Emeritus, Isabelle Lemon. The Fund wishes to encourage and reward others for stepping up to create positive change in the communities in which they live and work. The award winner will be honored and presented with a $2,500 grant for the 501(c)(3) non-profit organization to which they are committed as a volunteer.

Click here to apply!

All applications must be received online by the deadline of Monday, September 20th at 5:00 p.m. The award winner will be notified by Friday, September 24th and will be recognized at the Giants game on Wednesday, September 29th.

Congratulations to Elaine Bostwick Smith from Fresh Lifelines for Youth as the winner of the 2020 Community Spirit Award.

Fresh Lifelines for Youth (FLY) is a nonprofit that serves youth in the juvenile justice system and those at risk by interrupting the pipeline to prison and supporting youth on their path to healthy, free, and productive lives.

As a long-time volunteer known as “Grandma” to the youth of the organization, Elaine’s work through FLY’s Speech Committee provides young people with the tools they need to tell their stories in a strengths-based and empowering way to help them gain personal and professional skills. Elaine takes part in any way she can, from providing rides to meetings, taking youth shopping for professional clothes and providing a sense of family by hosting gatherings at her home. Most importantly, she serves as a safe person to support their growth and transformation into community leaders through her love and acceptance. We are proud to be able to recognize her volunteer efforts through this award.

Past Community Spirit Award Winners

2020 – Elaine Bostwick Smith, Fresh Lifelines for Youth

2019 - Marimo Berk, The Creekside School

2018 - Shafia Zaloom, Aim High

2017 - Michele Huntzinger, StandUp For Kids - Silicon Valley

2016 - Marty Devitt, Community Action of Napa Valley

2015 - Doniece Sandoval, Lava Mae

2014 - Patricia Conte, Family Giving Tree

2013 - Judy Heyboer, Friends for Youth, Inc.

2012 - Daniel Andrist, San Francisco Education Fund

2011 - Judy Grossman, ASAP at Mission High School

2010 - Elyce Melmon, Kara

2009 - Gina Fromer, Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church

2008 - Jennifer Dizon, Youth and Family Enrichment Services

2007 - Martha Ryan, Homeless Prenatal Program

2020, Elaine Bostwick Smith, Fresh Lifelines for Youth